Options

Intimidation...

charliepaulcharliepaul Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was at the book store tonight with my girlfriend and as of now I'm only about half way through the Network+ book but I figured I'd take a look at some ccna books and some of this stuff looks pretty intimidating, but I guess the stuff I've got a handle on now; looked that way before I studied it too, but it's kinda scary sometimes. I guess I'm hoping I can get all this stuff. You guys ever feel like that?

Comments

• Options
    brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218
    absolutely. just remember, you wont learn it all in a day. You may not learn anything in a day. I just try to keep my goals small....ie do this chapter, watch that nugget...and then after a month or two, you know enough for a test.

Its easy to get intimidated. Just remember, there's nothing you cant learn. You just need to have the opportunity to learn it.
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You guys ever feel like that?

Yes icon_lol.gif

But you do get over it. The suggested reading list for the Cisco Routing & Switching CCIE takes up about 4 feet of bookshelf space -- not counting the non-Cisco Press books.

When you get to the CCNA for real, sneak a peak at the suggested books for the CCNP -- then the CCNA won't seem that bad in comparison. icon_lol.gif

A Safari subscription could also be less intimidating (and costly) than all the physical books.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    mwgoodmwgood Member Posts: 293
    I remember when I started studying the CCNA material - it all seemed overly difficult and "esoteric."

Now - I wonder why it ever looked so difficult.

You do get over the intimidation - in time.
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod