Options

Driver Signing / Driver installation rights ???

MarkieMarkie Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all.

Ok, Im studying for the 270 exam and Ive come across something that has kinda confused me.

Its to do with "Driver Signing". In particular, the Driver Signing Options which can be accessed as follows:

--- right click on My Computer
--- click on Hardware tab
--- click on Driver Signing tab

You then get the Driver Signing Options box. Once there you get two configuration choices to make.

1. When users attempt to install an unsigned driver, you can configure how you want windows to react. Windows can either block all such installations, warn the user before attempting to install the unsigned driver or to ignore the fact that a driver is infact unsigned (and thus automatically install the unsigned driver.

2. You can check or uncheck an Administrator option to "make this action the system default"

Its this second point thats causing the confusion. Here's why:

As far as I can tell, the only built-in local group that can install device drivers is the Administrators group.

So, lets say for example, we pick the "ignore" option, meaning users can install any hardware driver (signed or unsigned).

What would then be the point of ticking the "Make this the system default" option, as Administrators are the only group that could install the driver anyway.

I guess Im just saying that it seems to be a redundant option.

Is there some sort of Group Policy setting or something that can be changed to give users (other than Administrators) device driver installation rights? If there is, then this option might make more sense to me.

I hope someone can help.

Mark
The oxen is slow but the earth is patient!!!!

Comments

• Options
    Well, just after I posted, I did find the answer to 1 of my questions.

It seems you can in fact give other users (in addition to administrators) the right to install drivers by configuring local security policy as follows:

--- Start