70-297 Stinks!

az_golferaz_golfer Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Here is my experience with the 70-297.

I studied for this with Testout and Transcenders. There really isn't alot of new material to study except for maybe choosing the appropriate upgrade procedure for NT domains to 2003 domains.

I thought this exam was absolutely rediculous. The questions are not overly hard but the case study format is where the difficulty lies. The information is presented to you in an extremely long winded manner with a ton of irrelevant information. I would say this is no problem if they would give you enough time to properly outline/document the case study before answering the questions. There is only enough time to birefly skim the case study while searching for key words directly related to your question. This exam is less about validating knowledge and more of a speed reading test.

I can not imagine a real world scenario where a SysAdmin will be presented with two pages of interview, business objectives, technical requirements, etc... and be expected to answer approximately 10 technical questions in 20 minutes.

Anyways, despite failing my first attempt, I am proud to say I passed today with an 863. I had 6 case studies and about 46 questions. Now I only need my operating system (probably Vista) and my elective (probably Exchange 2007) to be MCSE.

Comments

• dave_ne1dave_ne1 Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Im sitting this exam on Thursday, i was wondering how i was going to deal with all the non relevant info in the case study - think a quick read through the questions then go back a read the case study info might be a good idea now - and congrats on your pass
  • az_golferaz_golfer Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Here's what I did my second attempt. I would read the background section and interviews first. This will give you a good overall view of the current scenario. Then I read a question and started skimming the items for the relevant information.