Options

Self study MCSA/MCSE

blueagle78blueagle78 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Guys I'm studying for MCSA and then eventually I would like to be MCSE (that's the target anyway). I work in desktop/server support sort of role and been doing this for well over 4 years now so I've got plenty of hands-on experience in Microsoft XP, Windows 2003 server.
I'm studying for 70-290 right now, I'm half way through the book, got couple of Windows 2003 servers up and running in AD domain. I just would like to know how do you guys usually prepare for your exams when you are self-studying?
Any advise would be great appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    KGhaleonKGhaleon Member Posts: 1,346 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You should experiment with your domain controllers, try setting up WSUS, SMS, exchange, etc. I like to watch the video podcasts over at itidiots.com, so fun stuff can be found.
    Present goals: MCAS, MCSA, 70-680
  • Options
    KG - Thanks for that little tip about itidiots.com. Never visited that site and didn't know it even existed and so far I've seen couple of videos on it and to be honest it seems fun and very informative.
    Any more tips or suggestions would be really appreciated.
  • Options
    Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157
    I read through a book, set up practice labs then do practice tests to see how well I understand the material.

I'm not recommending the following but....

One thing that I try to do when possible, is take new things I have learned and apply them at work. So far I haven't screwed anything up :)
  • Options
    Thanks for your friendly advise so far guys.
    I've been reading on and off the 70-290 book for good few months now but since last couple of days I've been concentrating hard and trying to allocate at least 2 hours a day to my exam preparation.