Options

IS Roadmap suggestions!

maumercadomaumercado Member Posts: 163
Hello All, Ive been making plans and choosing certifications to do and masters degree to get!

Ive chosen the following certifications:

Network+, sec+,CEH,OSCP,GSEC,CISSP and here I was thinking of applying for the msise program of sans, but Im not so sure. I like sans because well theyre certifications are great, and besides getting the masters degree with em I also get a lot of GOLD certifications, but I have also looked at other information security masters program from university of phoenix, nsu, nsa approved list and royal holloway university in london!

What would you guys recommend? the master in information security engineering degree from sans, or keep looking at another master infosec programs?
I know sans is a good choice but im still unsure.

Im planning on doing the master degree in 3 or 4 years! the certifications im studying net+ and sec+ as Im writing this.

All Suggestions are welcome, and thank you in advance!

little bit about me; I just began in the Information security field, something im really happy about cuz I have always liked it! I have a BS in electronic Engineering, and I have been working for a month and a half as an application security analyst.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You should consider getting some *nix, Windows, and Cisco experience as well. You don't need to achieve a mastery level of everything, but you should be comfortable working with those technologies.

Also, check out the Masters in InfoSec here: http://www.capella.edu

A few people here either have it or are working on it, and I plan on going that route when I wrap up my undergrad in a year.
  • Options
    I´ve been thinking in adding the linux+ and then lpic.

About the cisco exp, will the network+ help me prepare for ccna? I know Ill have to study some ccna specifics later... but what exactly? commands only?

On the microsft point, will a MCSE do?