Options

Which networking degree program do you think is better?

DingdongbubbleDingdongbubble Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
Ok I have a choice between two degree programs.

Their program maps are here:
http://businessandit.uoit.ca/EN/main/96618/140839/141098/148764.html
AND
http://www.bitdegree.ca/index.php?Section=Info&Item=NET

Looking at the courses being taught, which do you think is better. Please the Univ reputation and all that to me. I just want your opinion on which program's courses look better.

Thank You

Comments

• Options
    vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
    The first one looks more Cisco oriented if that's the route you want to go. The second one seem to give you a much more broad range of courses IMO.
  • Options
    cisco_troopercisco_trooper Member Posts: 1,441 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The answer to that question is going to depend alot on what you want to do in IT? Can you tell us what your short and long term IT goals are?
  • Options
    TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I haven't looked at the details, but it seems to me a purely networking degree is somewhat overdue. One of the problems is the body of staff behind the formulation of academic programmes often teach what they are comfortable with based on their own experience. The net result can be old techniques and methodologies taught to students. I recall when I entered university years ago we were being trained up to be systems analysts..but the market had since moved on and there were no jobs in those areas anymore.

Whatever you decide to do, ensure that the syllabus is current.

Good luck!
  • Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The first one has general IT classes and Cisco class, but it also has more open electives.

The second one has a wider variety of IT classes, but few open electives.

Personally, I like the first one because it focuses more on one area and has the open electives, but you have to go with what is best for you.
    Andy