Options

Western Governors University?

Comments

• Options
    s0c0s0c0 Member Posts: 76 ■■□□□□□□□□
    This thread might be dead, but hopefully some of you posters are still around. Wow I haven't posted on this site in years since I attempted my CCNA. I have since switched from Systems and Networking to Web Development and have landed a decent job making 45k. At 24, I have an AAS in Computer Network Systems from ITT. I would have completed my BS degree there but I was not overly impressed and shortly after landing a job in my field I began teaching myself PHP and fell in love with web development.

Being young I enrolled in a community college and am working towards my BS in Computer Science but taking only 6 credit hours a semester means it could take a while. Is WGU right for someone like me who doesn't want to to wait until they are 30 for a degree. I have about 3 years experience in the IT field (1 yr as a jr network admin and 2 yr as a web developer) so conceivably if the BS IT Software degree from WGU took 2 years I could have a BS and 5 years of IT experience under my belt which I feel could help land me a nice paying job, in the 65k - 100k range. The other thing I was thinking is getting a degree from a regular university in business after my WGU Software degree, I think that could really help me land a great job having a bachelors in IT and Business. I have a phone meeting with an enrollment counselor tomorrow and depending on how much of my AAS degree and course work from the community college transfers over I will probably enroll.

I'm a self taught programmer and due to the poor education at ITT a largely self taught Linux and networking guy. Will the WGU degree carry weight with my experience taken into account? What's been your experience? Thanks for reading.
  • Options
    eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□