Options

Home lab cables help!

CoolBeansCoolBeans Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Yes, I am dumb......but I bought a couple routers and a 2950 switch piecemeal so I don't have any cables.

What kind of cables will/should I need for multiple setups....for CCNA home lab?

I have (in the mail) a 2610 - 2612 - 2503 and the 2950.

Suggestions? Thanks guys, I am just starting out so I am not versed in every piece of equipment yet.
Fact: Beats are better than bears.

Comments

• Options
    dazerskidazerski Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□
    CoolBeans wrote:
    Yes, I am dumb......but I bought a couple routers and a 2950 switch piecemeal so I don't have any cables.

What kind of cables will/should I need for multiple setups....for CCNA home lab?

I have (in the mail) a 2610 - 2612 - 2503 and the 2950.

Suggestions? Thanks guys, I am just starting out so I am not versed in every piece of equipment yet.

You're not dumb. I am still learning about various versions of routers and switches, there is so much to learn! All I know so far from what you have wrote is about the 2610.

My 2610 only had one RJ45-10/100 jack on it and that was from an add-on card. I still have to acquire some AUI Transceivers. I have two 2501's as well and they have no ethernet jacks on em'. I bought some cross-over serial cables but I don't really know what to use them for yet LOL

Try doing some searches here on keywords like "Home Labs" or "Cables" I bet you'll find some more threads that may help you (Better than I have :) )
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    An AUI transceiver for the 2503
    Some crossover ethernet cables
    Some straight through ethernet cables
    A couple Cisco rollover console cables
    A USB to serial adapter if you don't have one on your computer
    Some DTE-DCE serial cables if you have the ports on your routers. A combination of DB60 and SS depending on what ports you have available.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□