Options

HOPE FOR ALL!

NetAdmin1234NetAdmin1234 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I started working with communications equipment in the Army in 2000 and did that for 4 years.

I left the military and started my own computer repair biz with no certs or degree's I still to this day have no A+ no Network+ no MCSA or MCSE or CCNA or Degree of any kind.

I started being the outsource and help desk for 5 medium size biz's around town running 5U servers win2003 and 2000 with 6-45 users.

I did this for 4 years and made about 60k per year at it which is very good for my area.

So, 3 weeks ago a client of mine walks in and says hey we need a NA at our place.

I gave my resume' to the parent companies IT Manager he called we spoke I asked him if me not being certified was an issue he quickly said no because he considers then to be worth the paper they are written on and that is it.

I was shocked!

Now granted I have 8 years of experience which obviously is worth more than any degree to him!

So, I got the job.

I am responsible for

Win2003 Standard
File Server
Application Server
Blackberry Server
Exchange Server
Domain Controller
VPN
Wireless Network

And, more as I am only on my 3rd day on the job.

So the fun part my pay.........

$47,500 + Full Benefits + Window Office + NO BOSS....well I have a manager but he is in finance so........yeah no boss really I have free rain of my day I fix what I want when I want how I want per company policy ofcourse!

SO, all you certified and degree ppl out there start your own biz you can run it from home, besure you have a good disclaimer that you have everyone you help sign that releases you from all liability and be sure you have liability insures of 1 million minimum in case you get sued.

I never got sued but, I did get spit on and that cost me $400 and a night in jail. I broke the guys jaw and eye socket ........you just dont spit on a Ranger HOOAH! HOOAH!

Comments

• Options