Options

Question about CCENT format/study-time

ROMGabeROMGabe Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am new to the Cisco world. Having read the requirements for the CCNA exam on Cisco's website, I decided the the most prudent way to go is to take the ICND1 (640-822) exam first (aka CCENT) and then the ICND2, instead of the mega-one-exam.

In your opinion is 3 months sufficient to cover and master the CCENT material ?

(I signed up for the exam already, 3 months from now and am making may way thru the "CCENT: Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician: ICND1 (Exam 640-822)"
(Exam 640-822 With CD) by Todd Lammle (Paperback - Mar 4, 200icon_cool.gif
book.

Thank you for all your feedback and pointers on how best to study.
----
Studying CCENT/ICND1 (640-822)
Future tests:
in 2008: CCENT, SSCP, Linux+, A+,
in 2009: CCNA/ICND2 (640-816), C|EH, CWNA, CWSP,
in 2010: CCNP, CCSP.

Comments

• Options
    gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Do you have any background in networking (theory or practical). That will either increase/decrease the learning curve. I think you can do it in 3 months if you put in some good quality study time.
  • Options
    jscimeca715jscimeca715 Member Posts: 280
    I'm doing the same thing and after reading through the study guide I've determined that three months is about right. I've posted on here before about how an organized study agenda is the way to go, it helps me stick to a deadline.
  • Options
    dazerskidazerski Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I see you already have a Network+ cert. I am using the Odom ICND1 book and it seems like a good majority of the first 8 or 9 chapters deal with a lot of non-vendor-specific network theory topics. I have heard others in the past say that the beginning ICND1 and Network+ topics overlap a lot.

I think you will have a nice advantage already being net+ certified when you start going down the CCENT road. I am only on chapter 10 of the ICND1 Odom book.