Options

Has anyone though of moving to the Business side of IT?

jlhctjlhct Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I've been thinking about this topic for a while. My background is currently Network Admin/Desktop support, but for a long time i've been thinking about going to the Business Analyst/Project Management route.

I have my B.A in Information systems and have a couple of certs.

The defining of scope and requirements really seem to hold my interest more and more.

Maybe i'm getting old, I don't know... :) but anyway, wanted to see if anyone has done this or thought about it.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I will be becoming a technical project manager probably pretty soon. I find the leadership and overseeing of IT projects but being able to dabble into it still as fascinating.
    My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!
  • Options
    nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    project management seems like one of those hot things to get into at the minute. its not something im looking at short term but i wouldnt rule it out because i really enjoy having a project to manage, implement and support through to the end. and from what i see the salary is pretty good aswell. i suppose it depends which side of the fence you want to sit on...a more management role or a technical aspect of it? for me im at an early stage of my career and really want to step up into technical infrastructure work but if i were at a later stage of my career then it maybe a good option!
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • Options
    livenliven Member Posts: 918
    The new job I just took has a heavy does of project management in it.