Options

Independent Health

rizzo777rizzo777 Member Posts: 72 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I graduated 3 months ago with a IT associates degree and its been tough finding a job making what I make now (not IT though). I have a interview with independent health for a paid internship in in helpdesk department. I think I can squeeze 15 hours a week in my full time schedule, would it be a good idea to give it a shot? comments please! thanks.

Comments

• Options
    gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It will give you experience to open more doors for you when it is finished. It might even turn into permanent employment. If you are looking to get into the IT business I really don't see a downside especially since it is paid.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    There's a lot of people here that are desperately trying to break into the field. As long as this doesn't negatively affect your health and well-being (i.e. only allowing you to sleep 3 hours/night), go for it. Opportunities like that seem hard to come by, so you'd be a fool to pass it up without good reason.
  • Options
    Yeah, I will definetly take the opportunity if they accept me. I wonder how much they would pay full time. Is that a question I can ask or should I just wait it out
  • Options
    I'd wait until they make an offer for full-time first.
  • Options
    brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218
    For sure get your foot in the door and get the experience. You can scale back any coursework to fit around the job.

As hard as it is to get in, in some areas of the country...take the experience, make the contacts.
  • Options
    well, they just contacted me to say the position was filled Friday, my interview was tomorrow. Figures i would get the shaft, its been fustrating trying to get a IT job icon_confused.gif
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    rizzo777,