Options

Changing Companies, same role.

TechJunkyTechJunky Member Posts: 881
As some of you may know I am a Systems Administrator that has been spread pretty thin lately. Well a new opportunity has come about just recently where I can move into another Systems Administrator for a fortune 500 company that works on projects with companies such as NASA. I was actually contacted through careerbuilder.com by their company and decided to give it a shot. The interview lasted 25 minutes tops. The next day I received a phone call from the project manager offering me a position with their company. I havent signed the job offer yet, should be complete monday.

Then right after I hung up I received another call from another company that will be working on a contract internationally with Cheveron. They wanted to interview me as well. Should I hold off on employer A and interview for employer B to see what they have to offer? I feel I have nothing to lose and all to gain at this point. The nice thing is that both potential employers contacted me.

The big thing next is that my current employer has no clue, she is going to be shocked to say the least. She doesnt understand thats what happens when you underpay someone and overwork them. She doesnt have a replacement or even someone in the company that could fill my shoes currently. I have already created 3 different manuals for the new employee and I am prepared to train the next employee as needed before my 2 weeks notice.

Jobs/Careers are give/take correct? I shouldn't feel bad that she didn't cover her company and hire another technician after I told her repetitivly, but for some reason I do. It must be because she is personally a great person she just doesnt manage as well as I would like.

Anyhow. There are jobs out there still, dont get discouraged.

Comments

• Options
    astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□