Options

question for better foundation and understanding

Hey guys, I currently work in the security field and I am being trained up to do various tasks in security. I have recently been feeling that since being in the security field I haven't had to deal much with general networking and feel I am losing a bit of the knowledge I once had. I am kind of unsure on how to ask this question or if it is the proper question to be asked but I am looking for guidance to see what a good path might be to take to get back to the roots of tcp/ip and networking? Should I look at stuff like network+ or is there possibly a better path I might be able to take? I have heard some people talk about the tcp/ip illustrated books for a really good and visual way to truly get a firm grasp on the protocol stack but wanted to see what you all thought?

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    If you are a beginner in computer networking then the Network+ would be the way to go. If you have some networking experience and like working with Cisco equipment, then look into the CCNA. If you really enjoy using protocol analyzers, IDSes, and pen testing work, then you should have a look at the CEH. Also, the Web is filled with information on TCP/IP and networking in general. Have a look at Wikipedia and cisco.com.
  • Options
    zenlakinzenlakin Member Posts: 104
    Hmm, maybe I will just take out any chance of missing something and get all 3? LOL!! That might be a pretty good idea now that I think about it. :)
  • Options
    SchluepSchluep Member Posts: 346
    zenlakin wrote:
    Hmm, maybe I will just take out any chance of missing something and get all 3? LOL!! That might be a pretty good idea now that I think about it. :)