Options

Which Linux OS is popular?

certifymecertifyme Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, seems like there are a bunch of different type of Linux out there. I'm wondering which one do most tech companies use?

Comments

• Options
    astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    On the server side in enterprise environments it's RHEL (Red Hat), followed by RHEL (Red Hat), followed by RHEL (Red Hat), followed by SLES (Novell/SUSE), followed by anything else. ;)
  • Options
    marco71marco71 Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • Options
    thanks for the replies guys... I downloaded centOS live and ran it on vmware. Is that good enough to study for the linux+ or do i need to download the actual install file (DVD iso 3.4 gig i think) and install it on vmware? Also, I'm new to vmware and linux.. trying to learn both hehe..
  • Options
    I would go ahead and get some installation experience whether it's on the exam or not. CentOS is a great choice as it is essentially RHEL without the "Red Hat" logo (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CentOS).
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Stick with CentOS in Vmware for your Linux+ cert, and yes, install it a bunch of times.

If you plan on running a desktop to replace your WinXP/Vista, think Ubuntu.
    -Daniel
  • Options
    seuss_ssuesseuss_ssues Member Posts: 629
    Not to be obnoxious but solely because someone will call you out on it some day:

Linux is the operating system and all the different versions like debian, redhat, suse, etc are called distributions or distros for short, buy they are all still based off of the linux kernal.

To more accurately answer your question:

I have not studied for the linux+, but rather the lpi series of certifications. To study for the lpi you need either a debian or redhat based distro to play with. With the popularity of redhat im sure that it is probably sufficient for your linux+ studies.