Help!!!

pLuhhmmpLuhhmm Member Posts: 146
Ok, well, I just got my new laptop ive had it for a few days, it came with vista premium but then i reformated with xp and dual booted that with vista ultimate, any way, for a day or two i noticed that i was receiving a abnormal amount of packets abnormal as in 70 million in i think under an hour of doing nothing, today i updated it to sp1, but before i did that i was not able to connect to the internet with vista and now after sp1 update i still have no internet connection (and im not sure if the update fixed the massive packet problem or not,) and when i use the diagnose button it says the dns is messed up or w/e so i reset my router and modem, that did not work. But whats weird is that when i boot into xp it works, idk if its a driver problem, i doubt it though. I was wondering if anyone knows whats going on, b/c it cant be the router can it? I mean i have a connection in xp! Help me, if i solve it ill post saying so :D,

Oh when i do ipconfig everything seems to check out but ill double check it and if i can post it.
Ever wonder what makes special sauce so special? YO!

Comments

  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,314 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It's obviously the Vista side of things. Are you using DHCP or a manual TCP/IP configuration? Post an output of ipconfig /all.
  • pLuhhmmpLuhhmm Member Posts: 146
    Yea I guess I Fixed it, while using vista at school in my networking class, when we had a sub teacher wed playing half life over the network and some pcs wouldnt work so i figured id fix this the same way..... disable ipv6, burn in hell ipv6!!! thx dynamik for your reply.
    Ever wonder what makes special sauce so special? YO!
  • pLuhhmmpLuhhmm Member Posts: 146
    well wtf..... now im getting some thing about a firewall blocking my connection... its now directly connected to my router and now im gonna see if zone alarm is doing this or my routers fw.
    Ever wonder what makes special sauce so special? YO!
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,314 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If it's not doing it on the XP side, it's going to be your Vista configuration, not your router.

    Just disable zone alarm temporarily and see if that helps.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray MSIT InfoSec, CISSP, SSCP, GSEC, EnCE, C|EH, CySA+, PenTest+, CASP+, Security+ Surf City, USAAdmin Posts: 11,893 Admin
    Vista and Server 2008 use IPv6 by default. This playing Hell with some Windows IPv4-only software I'm currently writing. Lots of Windows XP apps have never been tested with Vista or IPv6, so it's not so much a Vista problem as an IP address version problem.
  • pLuhhmmpLuhhmm Member Posts: 146
    yea i fixed it again. thx
    Ever wonder what makes special sauce so special? YO!
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,314 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Don't leave us hanging. What was the problem? Was it IPv6?
  • pLuhhmmpLuhhmm Member Posts: 146
    UHG!#Q$#$

    Its messing up again, and im stilling getting this error;

    Windows confirmed that "primary dns server" is currently online, but is not responding to connection attempts at this time.


    Windows 7 better be XP but looks like vista cause this is bs.

    Let me reboot into vista then ill post ipconfig. with and without ipv6 enabled.
    Ever wonder what makes special sauce so special? YO!
  • pLuhhmmpLuhhmm Member Posts: 146
    IPv6 Disabled

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Josh>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Josh-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-44-**-**-**
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC(NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-25-**-**-**
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, June 27, 2008 9:45:16 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, June 28, 2008 4:49:27 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled





    IPv6 Enabled

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Josh>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Josh-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-44-**-**-**
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-25-**-**-**
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, June 27, 2008 9:45:16 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, June 28, 2008 4:49:27 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled



    I have the netstat -a log also if you need it.
    Ever wonder what makes special sauce so special? YO!
  • pLuhhmmpLuhhmm Member Posts: 146
    Well thanks dynamic, it was zonealarm, does anyone know why tho? I want a firewall but i want internet aswell :D i guess ill try a firewall that tells me more of what is freakin doing, if anyone else has it i hate how it say *many intruders .... well wtf were they damn it!!

    If you could list some firewalls they dont have to be free if you get my drift.

    Vista able please.
    Ever wonder what makes special sauce so special? YO!
  • seuss_ssuesseuss_ssues Member Posts: 629
    I wouldnt waste my time masking my MAC address when posting outputs, there isnt much that it can be used for.
  • RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Have seen this issue many times with Vista - usually when an AV suite is installed and it disables the built-in firewall in Vista. Vista firewall does not like to be disabled.
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
    if you want a good PC firewall check out Comodo Firewall I use it at home it's done pretty well for me and very customizable... http://www.personalfirewall.comodo.com/
  • RikkuRikku Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hey There,

    I supported a bunch of end users that would connect over VPN and every now and then they would have a myrad of connection issues, especially over VPN much less with thier internet connection.

    99% of the time if it was a third party app that was the cause it was zonealarm!! Even if I put an exclusion/pinhole for the port number/app I would still have issues. It was VERY specific for configurations or would not work at all....with all those issues, I don't know why it is so highly recommended as an intrusion detection solution.

    I would recommend ESET NOD32 Antivirus and spyware/malware solution. It is extremely scaleable, easy to use and carries a very small footprint. We used it for clients and servers.

    I am glad you found the cause.

    -Rikku
  • ITKID2ITKID2 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    troubleshoot your life icon_cool.gif
Sign In or Register to comment.