Router Lab

Blang008Blang008 Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
Okay, I'm studying for the CCENT and then the CCNA. I just bought a couple of routers so that I could do some hands on labs and they came in this week. I have two 2501 and one 2620 with CSU/DSU card and ISDN/BRI card. I am watching CBT Nuggets and reading Sybex CCENT. I plan on doing the labs in the book and with the Nuggets, but I was wondering if anyone could tell me the best way to hook this lab up. Thanks in advance for all your input.

Comments

• hypnotoadhypnotoad Banned Posts: 915
    Get some DCE/DTE serial cables as seen here (http://www.digitalhoop.com/images/product_images/cab-dte-dce_m.jpg). You can get them on ebay for about $5-8 with shipping in the states.

Put the 2501's in the back of the 2620's with the serial cables. I'd put the DCE side on the 2620 (which end you use where matters).
    2501 -------\
                 2620 (DCE side provides clock rate)
    2501 -------/

This will allow you to set up serial connections, set up routing (static, rip, eigrp, etc), set up DLCI's and use the 2620 as a service provider router -- pretending you have 2 sites with 2500's.

ISDN is not convered in the exam objectives anymore.

Hope this helps,
    NL[/code]
  • Blang008Blang008 Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Is this a good lab to have for CCENT/CCNA studies? Is that all I need the DCE/DTE cables? Also, do i need a switch. I am currently watching the nugget where he configures a switch. I have been following along when I can using Packet Tracer. I really appreciate your help. Thanks again nl for responding.
  • gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□
    For the routing part this is very good for a CCNA lab. You may also want to pick up 1 or 2 2950 Switches. If you can get the 12 port ones off of ebay since they are relatively inexpensive
  • astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□