CompTIA IT Pro membership - worth the money?

RickQRickQ Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
The thread title says it all basically.

I am studying for and will be taking my Network+ exam within the next week and so I am currently looking for how best to pay for it. I am looking at sites offering discount exam vouchers and bundles, etc. I have my study guide/book and some practices tests so I don't really need any of that, but the IT Pro site interests me because of the forum, the access to Book247 Business Library and the 25% off the exam cost.

The membership cost is $79 and the exam cost is $232 straight from the testing center.

Here is a link to the site http://itpro.comptia.org/

Is anyone currently a member of the IT Pro site? What do you think of it, is it worth the money?

I am really interested in your opinions to help me figure out what makes the most sense.

Cheers,
Rick
Working on: Security+

Comments

• nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    are you planning on taking more CompTIA exams after net+?
    WIP: IPS exam
  • astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    - CompTIA Reference Library Powered by Books24x7 – Access to hundreds of books covering technology topics Opportunity to register for career development or certification Webinars
    - 20 percent off access to the full Books24x7 BusinessPro library
    You get full access to the CompTIA Reference Library on Books24x7 but it looks like only 20% off the BusinessPro library.
  • darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    CompTIA isn't worth it unless you're going to use the discount to take an exam.

It's highly overpriced and in return you receive next to nothing. IMO, they don't do anything to bring the industry forward, so there are better org's to join and put your money towards that also give you just about nothing.
  • RickQRickQ Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    are you planning on taking more CompTIA exams after net+?