Options

First IT Field Interview

BullRatBullRat Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Oh man!

I applied for a PC Tech entry level position at a local Credit Union.

I am working on my A+ and have no formal training or experience as a PC Tech.

I have been building my own computers for 10 years or so, and feel confident in troubleshooting issues on my/family/friends computers.

It clearly states on my application and resume that I have no training or certs yet I still have an interview. I did put that I am attending a tech school and pursuing A+.

I have no idea what to expect and am very nervous.

Any advice would be great.

Wish me luck!!

Comments

• Options
    undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    Dress sharp and stay calm. Answer all of their questions honestly. If you don't know an answer tell them and then go on to how you would find out the answer. Have a few success stories ready and spin a good yarn about them. Sit up straight. Look them in the eye. SMILE!
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • Options
    darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    BullRat wrote:
    It clearly states on my application and resume that I have no training or certs yet I still have an interview. I did put that I am attending a tech school and pursuing A+.

Instead of saying what you don't have, say what you DO have: 10 years of experience working in your off-time on computer hardware and troubleshooting.
  • Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    Most of all, just relax. It took me 3 yrs. to land my first IT job. It's a long damn road, but we all travel it.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    Vogon PoetVogon Poet Member Posts: 291