Options

Resume Question

wheelywheely Member Posts: 105
I just recently got hired for my first IT job as a Firedog tech. I'll be doing the regular Firedog duties, but I will also be doing a little sales and possibly a little phone support.

Just wondering how you would list that on a resume.

Comments

• Options
    cdad2000cdad2000 Member Posts: 323
    Wheely,

Congrat's on the new position. It depends on what your future goals are? And gear your resume to the position you are apply for. Have an arsenal of resumes. And make it short and simply. Hiring manager's dont want to read 3 page resumes. I dont know how well sales skills are needed for a technical position.
  • Options
    cbigbrickcbigbrick Member Posts: 284
    Keep track of everything you work with both hardware and software. When it comes time to write your resume, it will be a little easier. I have been listing everything that I come in contact with since 2000 including vendors. I then tailor a resumes accouding to what I have done. the list also hepls me refresh my memory. icon_tongue.gif
    And in conclusion your point was.....???

Don't get so upset...it's just ones and zeros.
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Write down all the great technical things you do in a notebook. You should also be doing that too for your annual raises.

Remember that they are going to try and make you a sales person, fight it! Never hand off the hard techical problems. The problems you overcome today, may not go on your resume but they are great for review/interview conversations.
    -Daniel
  • Options
    jryantechjryantech Member Posts: 623
    Daniel333 wrote:
    Remember that they are going to try and make you a sales person, fight it! Never hand off the hard techical problems. The problems you overcome today, may not go on your resume but they are great for review/interview conversations.