Options

Security+ Exam question

mbock7mbock7 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok well im in my final year to finish my Bachelors in Network Security and during this year i plan on geting some Certifications. I am going to start with the Security+ exam. Now i have already learned a great deal in school and i heard that security+ is more of a basic concepts of security and not to hard. I see people buying several study tools i would rather buy one book that covers the material in the test, any suggestions on one book that would fit the test the best?

PS... Is this test harder then people say??
--Matt

Comments

• Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    It's Comptia, so it will be easy, but as a general rule any IT certification needs two books. No one author is permitted to "tell you everything".
    -Daniel
  • Options
    brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218
    Daniel333 wrote:
    It's Comptia, so it will be easy
    I couldnt disagree more. The A+ and N+ were insanely worded and left field. Im guessing that Sec+ will be equally or more rediculous.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The CompTIA stuff can be rough because they try to incorporate such a broad amount of information into 90 (or however many) questions. You end up with a lot of obscure stuff that probably was in your study resources, just in some tiny note you glossed over. They do seem to favor those little bits of information over general (and in my opinion, more important) material.

I didn't think the Security+ was that bad, but the Linux+ was not a pleasant experience.

If you're curious to see what the exams are like, pick up a Transcender practice exam or two. I've found them to consistently be on par or slightly more difficult than the actual exam.
  • Options
    NetAdmin2436NetAdmin2436 Member Posts: 1,076