Options

I got a job offer.. need opinions.

twiztidsilveradotwiztidsilverado Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Here's my situation. I currently work in the automotive industry and am going no where fast. So I decided to go to college and get some certs to land a job in the IT industry. Now I am currently inline to make 30k this year at my current job but I got a job offer today as a help desk representative. The company is IBM but manpower does the hiring. From the way she explained it they are hiring for laptop and ipod support. Here's the thing it only pays 10.25 an hour so it's going to pay roughly 9k less than I am currently making but I think the experience is the key thing to this job because I currently have no IT experience. Can anyone give me some insight on what they would do in this situation. I think I can make my finances work just gotta cut back on some stuff. Any help would be appreciated because right now I am unsure on what to do.

Comments

• Options
    i guess the main question is should I hold out for a job making more money and stay where I am at or take the job for less and gain some experience that will help me later.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Well, a lot of it obviously depends on your financial situation now. If the pay decrease causes you to starve and die, it's probably not a smart move.

If you can manage with less pay, think about which one offers the most opportunity for growth. Are there opportunities to make more than $30k at your current employer, or is that pretty much where you'll end up. How about the IBM job? Will the experience you get at either help propel you into something more interesting?

Above all else, what do you want to be doing?
  • Options