Options

Opensuse help required?

mishymishy Member Posts: 209 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am still new to linux and I have just got a dvd with Opensuse, KDE, Gnome. I have finished installing Opensuse and it was working ok but I have just restarted the computer but only the grub> screen comes up. What should I do to be able to boot back to linux? My root folder is (Hd0,0).

I would also Like to know if I will be able to dual boot with windows 2003 server?

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    mishy wrote:
    I am still new to linux and I have just got a dvd with Opensuse, KDE, Gnome. I have finished installing Opensuse and it was working ok but I have just restarted the computer but only the grub> screen comes up. What should I do to be able to boot back to linux? My root folder is (Hd0,0).

I'd guess that your grub config is misconfigured or corrupt. If you're new and don't have anything important on there, it'd probably be easiest for you to just reinstall. Otherwise, I believe you can get into a recovery/repair mode off the CD. I'm not sure if you can boot to the live CD and edit a local file system. That seems like it would be a valid option, but I've never tried it. Either way, you'll have to edit grub.conf manually. That might be a bit beyond your level at this point. It'd also be a great chance to dive in and learn something too! :D
    mishy wrote:
    I would also Like to know if I will be able to dual boot with windows 2003 server?

Yea, install Linux second, and it should take care of everything for you.
  • Options
    mishymishy Member Posts: 209 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the help and quick response. This was the first time installing linux and I am already thinking of sticking to windows because I could have used Last Known Good Configuration or something else along those lines.

The only thing I did was update the software and I know I had a few failures during the update but I will give it another go.