CCNP ONT

MKRH2008MKRH2008 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all

I am sitting my CCNP ONT 642-845 in a month, has anybody passed this?, if so have you any tips?
I am currently studying from the cisco press books, are there any topics missed or not covered in enough detail. I passed my CCNA three years ago on the 14th of OCtober so i really need to pass this one. Do you have to do simulators? If so which practice ones are the best. Any help or tips will be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• redwarriorredwarrior Member Posts: 285
    Hi there!

I failed my first attempt, primarily because I underestimated the ONT and studied only from the Cisco Press exam guide and online resources. There is a lot more information that is good to get before you take this one. I'm doing my retake on tuesday morning, so I'll let you know how that goes.

Having taken the exam once, I'd have to say the best study materials I've found so far that seems to cover the exam the most thoroughly are the trainsignal videos for ONT. They are a bit dry, though and you'd still want to supplement with further reading and lab practice, but they seem to cover the exam topics the most thoroughly and the practice exams to me seem closer to what I saw on my first try. I didn't feel the practice exams included with the Cisco Press book were really tough enough to be a good indicator.

I'd have to say the biggest mistake I made the first time around was thinking that since this was reported to be the easiest of the CCNP exams that this would be on a part with the CCNA exam in difficulty...if you don't underestimate it and make sure you know each exam objective thoroughly, you should do a lot better your first time out than I did.

CCNP Progress

ONT, ISCW, BCMSN - DONE

BSCI - In Progress

http://www.redwarriornet.com/ <--My Cisco Blog
  • MKRH2008MKRH2008 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply!