Options

CCENT - passed

errorkenerrorken Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Passed my CCENT today with 925/1000. My two cents:

Background:
I'm a java developer, I have no professional network experience.
Before this I never touched an actual cisco device (besides using a voip phone :) )
But I have to admit that due to personal interests I allready have broad network knowledge (at least on a basic level)

Study material:
CISCO press (odom) - ICND1
Boson exam sim which was included with the books
This forum, so a big thanks to everyone on this forum :)
Internet / CISCO website for commands and deeper understanding

Hardware:
I borrowed a 1720 and 2621 from a friend.
Later on I discovered GNS here, so I also used that with 26XX and 7200 IOS. Especially to test SDM since I cannot use it with the 2621/1720.

Time:
I read the book completely in july/august, then gave it a rest.
Then I started the actual preparation two weeks ago.

Exam:
I felt it was very easy. Also got plenty of time left.
I got one very weird question of which nothing is mentioned in the ICND1 material whatsoever, but the exam warned that there could be experimental questions, so I guess thats one of them.

I think ICND2 is going to be harder :)
(but I hope not)

Comments

• Options
    hodgey87hodgey87 Member Posts: 232
    congrats on the pass icon_thumright.gif
  • Options
    JavonRJavonR Member Posts: 245
    Good Job! I must say I am feeling more confident once I read that post, I have my CCENT booked for october 1st.
  • Options
    Thanks all, and good luck JavonR
  • Options
    fjhesqfjhesq Member Posts: 90 ■■□□□□□□□□
    How long did you acctually prepare, 2 weeks? I'm thinking about taking a stab at it the first of October. I've read the book and gone thru the CBT Nuggets a few times. Would you say subnetting.com are scenarios you faced on the exam?
  • Options
    dazerskidazerski Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Gratz Errorken!!!! Thank you for the information. 11 days until my CCENT!!!