Options

VMware - Where to start!?

OverdueOverdue Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I will just give a quick background; I have been working in 2nd level support for about 6 years now. I have done a few MCSE 2003 exams and am looking for something new and most likely something where there will be some stability for the next few years.

I have been playing around with VMware in work the past few weeks and I have come to the conclusion I need and want to do some sort of course in this area or do some home study. I want to broaden my expertise and also broaden my bank balance.

A friend has given me a loan of mastering VMware by Chris McCain, does anyone have this book and is it helpful?

I have also been considering

http://store.vmware.com/servlet/ControllerServlet?Action=DisplayPage&Env=BASE&Locale=en_US&SiteID=vmware&id=ProductDetailsPage&productID=104315100

As a starting point, or is this for total novices?

I see CBT also have a course out at the moment

VMware Infrastructure 3 VCP Certification Package

Would anyone recommend this?

A lot of questions there but any help appreciated,

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I wouldn't waste any money on the online training for Workstation. It's pretty straight-forward once you get into it. There's plenty of tutorials and the help file is great. You can always ask here if you get stuck; a ton of us use it.

This is the Mastering book you have, right? That's gotten some pretty good reviews, but I haven't read it myself. Let us know how you like it. You might also want to check out this and this. I'm not sure how much those overlap with the Mastering book. I used the Train Signal CBT over the CBT Nuggets because they have some updated material for version 3.5.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505