Administrating multiple domains.

TechJunkyTechJunky Member Posts: 881
I have

abc.com
123.abc.com

I am unable to setup an account from abc.com domain to be part of a group from the 123.abc.com domain.

We have 2 way transitive trusts.

I am an enterprise and domain admin.

Any ideas?

Comments

• macdudemacdude Member Posts: 173
    I am assuming that 123.abc.com is a child domain from abc.com or are they 2 completely different domains?
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What type of group is it? I believe they're global by default, which is why you can't add members from other domains.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc755692.aspx
  • TechJunkyTechJunky Member Posts: 881
    I am trying to be apart of 123.abc.com domain admins group.

I was looking through dsadd and dsmod but I dont see a way to do it.

Your right, looks like its a global security group so I cant do it.

Bummer.

Guess I will just add myself to that domain quick, remove the groups i want and then delete my account on that domain.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Can you add your account to the Enterprise Admins group?
  • astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    As others have said, Domain Admins is a global group.

If you don't want to make them members of the Enterprise Admins group (which I would advise you leave empty most of the time):

Create a universal group in 123.abc.com (let's say 123.abc.com\ABCAdmins for reference), add your abc.com account to 123.abc.com\ABCAdmins, then add 123.abc.com\ABCAdmins to 123.abc.com\Domain Admins.

That is a safe long-term strategy (assuming you need to do this on an on-going basis).
  • TechJunkyTechJunky Member Posts: 881
    Thanks.

We are collapsing the domains shortly anyhow. I was just trying to clean up some things before the restructure and I only needed an account for that domain shortly. I was just hoping there was a quick easy way without creating more groups.