New to forum....Passed 601 but failed 602, Any Advice?

tmarch291tmarch291 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I'm new to this forum and I'm looking for some advice. Last Saturday (10/1icon_cool.gif I took the A+ Essentials test and I got a 850/900. This morning, I took the A+ IT Tech exam and I got a 620/700. I'm an 18 year old in High School who has a reasonable knowledge of computer. I studied off and on for a few months using Mike Meyers book.

I was just wondering if the IT Technician exam is really that much harder than the essentials exam. When I took the test, I thought I did alright on it, but I guess not. I was wondering if I should take the 603 or the 604 test instead, if they are easier.

I am more skilled with hardware and I do very well on the Communication/Professionalism sections on my practice tests.

As of now, I'm just bummed about wasting the $150 I paid for the test. (It's a big ripoff just for spending 30-40 minutes in front of a PC)

Thanks for all your help,
Tim

EDIT: Also, if I take the 602 exam again, will it be the same quesitons?

Comments

• BarryprBarrypr Member Posts: 71 ■■□□□□□□□□
    No the questions will not be the same, you got a great score in the 601 the 602 has a lot of safety, dealing with people etc from what I remember.

You should use the print out you got to go back over the areas you were weak on!

Just brush up on these areas and re-sit, I'm sure you'll pass it next time around.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Sorry to hear you missed passing your exam. Review the 'weak' points that printed out on your pass/fail report and review those for a couple weeks....then schedule the exam again.

About feeling disappointed, that is normal. Most people are pretty shocked for a bit, but that is part of this process and most people (provided they take enough exams) will fail a few along the way.