Options

My path to an IT job.

michaelkahlmichaelkahl Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
I graduated from High School back in 1999. I started attending University while working a 3rd shift job at UPS. UPS paid the tuition and I took the classes half asleep. I was about to start my 4th semester when I realized I hated what I was studying, sociology, and couldn't afford books. I decided to take that semester off and do some soul-searching.
Times got even tougher that spring, my Dad couldn't hold employment, I took a second full-time job working at McDonald's as a Manager. So what did I do?
I joined the Air Force. I spent six years serving in the USAF and I'm proud of the time I served, but I didn't like the job. I could have retrained into another career field, but honestly I felt it was time to go home. My Dad had been diagnosed with dimensia and my wife was home-sick as well.
Last fall we loaded up the car and moved back home and I enrolled in classes. This time I knew what I wanted to study and what I enjoyed.
The Air Force taught me many important lessons and one of them was this. No matter what, make sure that the job you do every day is a job you enjoy. If you enjoy what you do you will perform well at that job. You will take interest in it, make things better and it will show.
I've been fiddling with computers for years now, building my own since I graduated from high school. Unfortunately it took me to long to figure it out.