Options

Need Help to connect two Laptops

Hello Members,

I bought another laptop, and have two laptops.

Laptop A is running Windows XP Pro
Laptop B is running Windows Vista

I still have had no luck in connecting these two laptops together into
a mini network, so I can practice sharing files back and forth,
mapping drives, permissions, etc.

Both Laptops have Wireless connections. Laptop A is connected to the internet through a DSL router. Laptop B is also now able to use the internet as well through this router. But the main problem is I want to connect these two laptops together. Can someone please explain in a STEP BY STEP way, how to do this. I have never done this before, so if you can do this Step by step, I'd appreciate it . I'd like to connect them with their wireless connection, I'd rather no use a cable to connect them. Can you explain how to do this. Thankyou All. Ric

Comments

• Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Oh this reminds me of the good ole days when I first wanted to get into IT and I took an A+ class and a couple of us were messing with a computer and some MCSE came in and was showing us how to network 2 computers together via a crossover cable.

I was completely lost and had no idea how one IP talked to another IP and felt like I was never going to get any of this stuff. And now I can subnet and count binary in my head. Permissions used to confuse the hell out of me also. The point of this story? I've seen your other threads where you feel like you're lost. Don't worry, you'll get there.

As long as both computers are on the same wireless network, they can both talk to each other. Can you ping the other machine? The main reason this is, is because adding them both to the wifi router, you have essentially put them both on the same wireless network which means their IPs are on the same network.