CCNA equipment

Kerber0sKerber0s Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok, I know you guys get tired of answering this question. But bear with me. I am new to CCNA. I just got the book a few days ago and am only halfway through chapter 1. I'm getting ready to lose my job because my company is going bankrupt and I want to get the CCNA under my belt so I can be more marketable. I am curious about the equipment needed for an adequate home lab. I DID read the FAQ's at the top but all of the posts that I read were from 2006. I'm assuming that the equipment has changed in the last two years. I also did a search on posts explaining what other people had and was completely baffled by what I read. I have done very basic work with switches (all 2900's and 2950's) and virtually nothing with routers. What equipment should I try to get now? How many switches/routers should I need? Please remember, I'm a complete novice. If the FAQ's are still ok then just point me back to them. I just don't want to get equipment that will not work with any updates that have come along with the exam. Thanks for the help!!

-Kerb

Comments

• TalicTalic Member Posts: 423
    Welcome, just read this and it should give you a good idea of what to look for on ebay.

http://www.networkworld.com/community/node/24916
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Kerber0s wrote:
    I'm assuming that the equipment has changed in the last two years.
    If you plan to turn your CCNA lab into a CCNP lab, then make one of the 4 routers that would be nice to have now a 2600XM. But that means you're spending about $100-150 now to save $20 later (the cost of a 2501 you'd toss in the closet and replace with a 2600XM for the CCNP).

Two years ago you needed at least one router to support 802.1q trunking for "router on a stick." Now you also need a router to support SDM -- but it can be the same router you use for "router on a stick." Otherwise things are still the same -- build the lab that fits your budget.