a question

onjionji Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was not sure where to post this but I have been lurking around for a while and was not able to find an answer for this.

I recently bought an 851 series router and have been playing around with the configuration settings and have recently tried getting it to connect to the internet, I have so far been able to establish connection from the computer to the router and can even ping the ATT modem interface that I own, from the router. I unfortunately am not capable of pinging anywhere out on the internet from the 800 series router. The ATT modem is acting as the main NAT service and is not capable of switching into ethernet bridge mode so that the 851 series router can act as the main NAT service. is there something im missing here?

I'm fairly new to networking and have been studying for my CCENT for about 6 months now but this situation has thrown me for a loop. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I would like to be able to just connect the router to the internet so that when i buy more routers in the future I can set up my own internal network.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• creamy_stewcreamy_stew Member Posts: 406 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm kind of drunk, so if don't make sene, just ignore me :)

Assuming you have other networks behind your cisco router, the ATT device won't know how to get to them. IE, it will know its own directly connected inside network on which your 851 will have an outside interface, but it wont know of any networks behind/beyond that.

If you want Internet connectivity for devices on a network behind your 851, you'll probably have to do a nat on your 851 as well.

Either that, or put a static route on the ATT device pointing the nets behind your router to your outside 851 interface. (probably wont happen)

/creamy
    Itchy... Tasty!
    [X] DCICN
    [X] IINS

[ ] CCDA
    [ ] DCICT
  • nevolvednevolved Member Posts: 131