Options

Advice: CCNA-level jobs

gzevsperogzevspero Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone could offer advice re: my situation from the perspective of a person already in the industry. Here's my story in a nutshell:

I've been doing freelance tech support for the past 5 years (mostly part time during uni), setting up home networks and PC's and such for private customers. Recently I completed my CCNA and started looking for full-time CCNA-level jobs. What I've found is that my freelance experience doesn't really seem to count when it comes to network admin/engineer jobs - even though I have a lot of experience with networking and a CCNA, I don't have real-world Cisco experience, so my resume hasn't been getting past the HR barrier. So I'm considering these three options:

1. Take a lesser job, i.e. helpdesk or desktop support, and hope to grow from within the company. The drawback is in such a job I would probably not be exposed to any Cisco equipment and gain much, if any, experience in the networking field that I'm trying to break into.

2. Continue working freelance and in the meantime try to get the CCNP as quickly as possible. I would also set up a home lab with real secondhand equipment (as opposed to the sims I used for the CCNA), and thereby gain practical experience with the hardware as well. I realize I wouldn't be a candidate for CCNP jobs, but am thinking that maybe a CCNP with my experience + lab work on real Cisco equipment would have a better shot at a CCNA-level job.