Options

CCNA : starting from scratch

laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
Hi:

I'm a student. I received a college diploma in Business Admin - Information Systems. I will also receive an University degree in Information Technology Management by next summer.

Throughout school, we learned the basics of networking such as OSI model, different types of wires, network layouts, and such. I have taken a Network Administration course. Besides from these courses, I have taken other IT courses such as Managing Information Systems, Systems Analysis & Design, Project Management, Visual Basics, Business Process Redesigning, SQL 2005, etc. However, I don't have any knowledge to CISCO equipments and i'm really interested in registering for a CCNA program.

Do you think I need solid industry experience in computer networking to understand Cisco?
http://db2.centennialcollege.ca/ce/certdetail.php?CertificateCode=7390

As you can see from the link above, it begins from CCNA 1 to CCNA 4. Based on my previous education and knowledge, do you think i'll be able to handle this program? Or do I really need work experience. This is a CCNA program that I would like to complete but not sure if i'll write the actual CCNA exams.

Thank you
Any comments will be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    empc4000xlempc4000xl Member Posts: 322
    go for it. Download packet tracer when you get to the academy and have at it. its easier than you think
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Cisco starts with the CCENT and then you move onto the CCNA. Both of which you should be able to earn without any experience.
    -Daniel
  • Options
    Darian929Darian929 Member Posts: 197
    Hello guys, I am also currently thinking of going into ccna but not sure if to start ccent first. I am basically at 70% with A+ certification so do you think its possible to start also studying for ccent?? or go straight for ccna?
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■