Options

Any reason to set a lower speed on a switchport?

Morty3Morty3 Member Posts: 139
As the topic says, is there any reason to lower my switchports speed to 10mbps when I got a 10mbps NIC? I mean, the speed is autonegotiated, but maybe it is any improvement to set the portspeed to the same as the nics?

Also, if I got a mate with a 100mbps NIC transferring data to my computer with a 10mbps NIC, is there any risk my switch will be flooded (store n' forward)?

I'm just starting to learn switches now in my Cisco-career :)
CCNA, CCNA:Sec, Net+, Sonicwall Admin (fwiw). Constantly getting into new stuff.

Comments

• Options
    NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    You sometimes need to manually set the speeds to match. The Cisco interfaces are usually very reliable, but the NIC you connect to might not autonegotiate very well.

For instance, when I hook up my XP Asus rig to my 2950, I set both ends of the link to 100 Full. Despite being 10/100/1000 auto, the built-in NIC on the mobo doesn't play nice with 10/100 auto ports (Cisco or otherwise).
  • Options
    I'll just set the speed to 10 mbps on the hosts and 100 on the wanlink. Doesnt matter anyhow, I just like doing configs on my switch (Catalyst 2916) :D
    CCNA, CCNA:Sec, Net+, Sonicwall Admin (fwiw). Constantly getting into new stuff.
  • Options
    Morty3 wrote: »
    I'll just set the speed to 10 mbps on the hosts and 100 on the wanlink. Doesnt matter anyhow, I just like doing configs on my switch (Catalyst 2916) :D

You should either leave them on auto or set them both to 10 Half (although there are some 10Mbps NICs that can do 10 Full).

Believe me, speed mismatches are not good.
  • Options
    At the moment I'm going with 10 full. Can reach internet with out any problems, although I'm at this moment the only host. What happends when you got speed mismatches? Can't be any worse then I've got to change it back to half?
  • Options