Options

Hardest of the 3 MCITP:SA

KunkelKunkel Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I'm studying on my own for the new MCITP:SA. My company is willing to to pay for 1 or possibly 2 boot camps, depending how things go. Which one would you guys recommend me using it on? The first MS cert I have gotten was a few days ago when I passed my 70-620. I plan on studying and testing in order. 70-640, 70-642, 70-646.

My knowledge of Server 2003 and 2008 is limited. I've used 2000, XP and Vista extensively. I will be building a box this week to run sims, virtual PCs and VM sessions for training.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Though I havent done any tests from the MCITP track, I think I can safely say you get decent server knowledge before plunging into the MCITP track. Maybe pass the 290 and 291 so you have a fair idea of the server side of things. But perhaps in a bootcamp, they might teach you everything from scratch. Still, it wouldnt hurt to atleast do the 290, IMO.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    If they're sending you to only one camp then the 646 would probably be the most all inclusive one. If you get two then grab the 640 as well. Definitely start hitting the labs as soon as you can though if you have limited server knowledge. Look at some of the older topics of the 291 for DNS and DHCP and get those learned well. That will make your ride a whole lot smoother if you have a complete understanding of those basic subjects.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□