Options

First Day of School Tomorrow

skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
I am SO very excited...tomorrow I go to my first day of classes for my BS in computer science. EEEEEEEE! icon_cheers.gif

I've got two classes this semester, which are prerequisites for just about everything else: Programming I (Java) and Discrete Structures (I know it's spelled different from "discreet" but it still always makes me giggle..."shhh, it's math" icon_lol.gif).

I'm all sorts of dorkily worked up to go to my first classes since 2001, when I took an intro CIS class at a community college back in AZ. Before that, the last time I was in a classroom was 1997 when I graduated with my geology degree. I'm a little worried that I'll be blown away by my peers, as I've got NO background in programming whatsoever and it's been eons since I have used math higher than algebra (and I'll likely be one of the oldest students icon_sad.gif). I did take up to Calc II but that was back in 1994, and I haven't really used it since. I've skimmed through the first two chapers of my math book to refamiliarize myself a bit with the terms, symbols, etc. and some of it is coming back to me, thankfully. It's way back in the far reaches of my brain, I just need to coax it out!

I'm going to try to get a good night's sleep and get to campus early tomorrow...there's a blizzard coming (when is there NOT a blizzard or snowstorm coming in Chicago lately?!), so I'll probably need some extra energy & time to dig out and maneuver my way there. I also want to try to FIND my classrooms before, say, classtime rolls around too. I've only got 10 minutes between classes and I don't want to be getting lost...yeah, that might be a little embarassing on the first day! :D
Currently Studying For: Nothing (cert-wise, anyway)
Next Up: Security+, 291?

Enrolled in Masters program: CS 2011 expected completion

Comments

• Options
    undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818