Options

quit job for onforce?

bhs00bhs00 Member Posts: 70 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have a very entry level IT job at a poultry company with little pay. But I have been here a year and it is full time. I have a Bachelor's degree, MCP, A+, Network+, and I am one test shy of completing MCSA. But I dont like my job. Theres nothing much to it and theres no possible movement up in the company. I have been thinking about trying my luck with OnForce or some company like it. I am supposed to call a guy about a part time onsite tech -- drive time paid. The pay is 10 - 15 per hour. I looked the owners name up and he has used onforce for his technicians. I currently make 12.50 per hour. Im wondering if taking a job with this guy would be a dumb move. Any ideas? I desperately want out of where I am. The company is bankrupt.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What financial responsibilities do you have? Rent/mortgage, loans/debts, wife/kids, etc.?

It seems like it would be difficult to replace a full-time salary with OnForce, but it could probably be used as supplemental income for part-time work. Just keep in mind that it's a race between techs to accept a ticket, so your chances of getting work is going to depend on the number of techs in the area and your schedule in addition to the availability of the actual work.

I'd hit up the part-time gig if you're in a good financial situation, and you think it'll offer better experience for you.
  • Options
    skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409