Options

Passed!!! ICND1 down, ICND2 here I come.

emtffkevemtffkev Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,

Just thought I'd let everyone know. I took my ICND1 exam earlier today and passed. I think I lost half my hair in the study process, but I got it done.

I'm gonna start cracking on the ICND2 curriculum pretty soon here.

Question for everyone though, the CCENT is supposed to be an entry level position cert. I understand most businesses want CCNA's with a fair deal of experience, but are places actually using CCENT's and whats a decent route to get my foot in the door and break the ice into the IT world.

I'm a paramedic with a wife and two kids that has fairly limited options on means to get experience. I can't take a pay cut and leave my job for a very low level IT position, but I need to find a means to get experience somehow.

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Congratulations! icon_thumright.gif
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    MeastMeast Banned Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Starting looking into Internships and contract jobs to get your foot into the door! You gotta crawl before you can walk, but you never know, I'm a IT Manager myself, and I look for experience rather than certs, but I get really impressed when I see both. I would never put anyone in my server room who has just certs and no experience.
  • Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    Congrats!! Don't be like me and slack on ICND2. lol.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    Thanks for the support everyone. I'm looking forward to ICND2 and I may have to come rack your brains a bit if I get stuck with my studying.