Options

Basic Question

zack429zack429 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi ALL,

I am fairly new to the Networking. I've been a database/business intelligence developer/administrator for quite a while now. My company has wants me to pick up on CCNA and that's what made me join this forum.

My question is: What does Ethernet literally means. I came across this term often in the networking books. Does it mean a cable or something? Pardon my ignorance and thanks a lot in advance for your help.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Wikipedia is great for stuff like this: Ethernet - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Welcome to the forums and good luck with your CCNA :D
  • Options
    I did search before asking this and I have no clue what it's saying. This definition doesn't fit what the books are referring to.
  • Options
    I did search before asking this and I have no clue what it's saying. This definition doesn't fit what the books are referring to. I thought some one can put it simply to help me understand.icon_redface.gif
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You need to be specific about what you're not understanding; it's too broad of a topic to simply fill you in on.

I guess you could essentially describe it as a set of standards for cabling and connectors.

Honestly, if you're this new to networking, you might want to consider starting with the Network+ (or at least reading a book or two if you don't want to take the exam). You're probably going to struggle with the CCNA if you don't know the fundamentals.
  • Options
    hypnotoadhypnotoad Banned Posts: 915
    Ethernet is a broad term for a set of standards that facilitate communication. The standards are neccessary so that different devices and vendors' equipment can transmit data using a pre-defined set of protocols.

Most Ethernet nowadays has a few characteristics you might recognize:
    -10/100 or 1000 megabits per second