Inexpensive online training

jalu6jalu6 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I haven't been around the forums in over 3 years when I was getting my MCSA, but recently my employer made it a requirement to get the Linux+ cert.

I'm relatively new to Linux, and I'm still stuck in the Windows state of mind, so I don't think books and practice tests are going to be enough for me this time. I have the Sybex Linux+ book already, but I was looking for something a little more interactive, like an elementK, or a TestOut subscription. With all the command line, I really think it would help me to be actively typing while I'm learning the material.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what is the best course of this kind? Also, my employer is paying for the exam but I doubt they would spring for $400-500 for a training course. Are there any discounts/coupons available or is the price generally what you see on the website?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Amazon doesn't have this right now, but it is a great source for linux beginners:

LabSim for Linux+ TestOut Corporation

Don't be put off by the 3-star rating, it was really good. It had instructional videos followed by simple sims. You may be able to order it from here:

Cengage - Operating Systems Products List Page - LINUX

Make sure you get the CD that comes with the book. It was priced very reasonably if I remember, like under $100.

Also, there are several free linux demo CBT's here:
    http://www.linuxcbt.com/?gclid=CPrZ7JiXh5kCFQ4MDQoduws_mQ

And also a few free CBT's here:
    http://www.cbtnuggets.com/

Click the link for free videos, then linux. There are 5 there at the moment.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Get this book: Amazon.com: A Practical Guide to Linux(R) Commands, Editors, and Shell Programming: Mark G. Sobell: Books