Options

Internships??

MattGibsonMattGibson Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I'm really new to the IT field, and I am looking to obtain some internships to get some experience.

Do any of you have any suggestions of the best way to go about this? What skills should I portray? How much follow up is required? If you've done an internship before, what did you do to obtain it?

So far I have just been e-mailing my resume out like crazy between dice.com/monster.com/craigslist/local paper/etc.

Thanks!
Currently focusing on my 70-291
Just getting started!

Comments

• Options
    TalicTalic Member Posts: 423
    Are you going to college? Because thats what internships are for, college students :)

You need to ask your college professors how you can get a internship and what the requirements are for them. Make sure you ask your elective professors, if they don't know then talk with your councilor.
  • Options
    LarryDaManLarryDaMan Member Posts: 797
    A state or federal agency is a great place to get an internship, so if you live in an area with government employment opportunities, go to the applicable website and look around. My wife parlayed an internship into a Top Secret clearance and a nice permanent fed job. For smaller companies, just make a visit and talk to someone. Explain your situation and that you want to earn some experience. Internships are win-win because they get cheap/free labor and you get experience and you are able to make good networking contacts to help with future employment prospects.

Spend some quality time with Google and I am sure you will find something. I have even seen internships on the popular job boards (Monster, Careerbuilder, Dice...etc.) With budgets being slashed everywhere, finding a good internship might be a little easier these days. Go for it!
  • Options
    eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□