Options

Calling after submitting a resume

IT_AdminIT_Admin Member Posts: 158
I was speaking with a close friend has been out of work a for a few weeks now & thinking of moving closer to the city to look for work. Anyways we were chatting about looking for work when he mentioned that after every resume that he submits he ALWAYS follows up with a call into the person he sent the resume to a week or so later to check up.

I was baffled; I have never done this before. I thought this was to be a no no or was I wrong? He went on to say how he swears by it.

I am curious on everyone's opinion on this, is this a good/bad common thing to do?
Next victim: 70-351

On my way to MCSE 2K3: Security

Comments

• Options
    sdyesssdyess Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I most definitely follow up, but if I hadn't heard anything within a 2 week time frame, I do call. I usually get the answer they are still interviewing, to me it is better than silence.
  • Options
    skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    this is one of those things that is hit or miss...you can either be seen as a go-getter OR someone who's entirely too pushy and annoying!

Following up after interviews is great, but following up on every single resume might be overkill, and in lots of cases you don't even know who you sent your resume in to or who's really reviewing it. If you want to do a quick follow up via phone or email to verify receipt and see what the status of the review/decision process is, then I guess that's ok, but be brief and respectful and don't be pushy. But even this may be seen as annoying by some since many job ads state "no phone calls" and it's pretty much assumed that if you don't get called, you're not a candidate they want to see. Also, in the technology arena, I'd say that it's assumed that if you don't get a "delivery failed" message for a resume you emailed in, or if you do a confirmation page for resumes faxed in, then it got where it was meant to go.