Options

Starting MCSA

m1chaelm1chael Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey all, I am seriously considering starting the MCSA track and wanted to know whether to start with the Networking exam 70-290 or the OS exam 70-270 first?

Wasn't exactly sure what most people start with? I plan on using the CompTIA certs for my elective.

Also, from what I've been reading the Sybex and MSPress books seem to be the way to go? What about the EC2 book...saw some decent reviews online.

Thanks,
Michael

Comments

• Options
    kriscamaro68kriscamaro68 Member Posts: 1,186 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Most people start out with the 70-270 then 290-291 you might as well get the 293 also cause there is some overlap from the 291. Also dont underestimate the 270. there is alot more to XP then most people know even if you use it on a daily basis for 8 years. Make sure to know sec templates, RIS, answer files, local gp's, and file\ntfs permissions. The ms press book is good resource. I studied a few chapters I was weak on from that and then watched a few cbt nugget vid's and passed. Good luck.
  • Options
    puertorico123puertorico123 Member Posts: 95 ■■□□□□□□□□
    i have 70-290, i study for 70-291 and 70-620. i considering take 70-260 instead of 70-270. beacuse 70-260 worth toward for the next certification MCITP.

if you have more experience in XP or vista, take firts the OS client, then 70-290.
    HOLD:
    Comptia A+
    Comptia Network+

2009 Plan:
    MCSA...75%
    CCENT....0%
    70-648..0%

2010 Plan:
    MCITP
    ORACLE
  • Options