Options

CCNA path suggestions, please!

pctechcareypctechcarey Member Posts: 8 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have just finished my path to MCSE:Security 2003 and various other certs. I have been a bench tech for almost three years. I am looking to start on the Cisco path and was wondering what the best suggested path would be. I am not very familiar with the Cisco certs and what is availiable. I see most points towards the Cisco press books but need some direction on the what exams to start with. Thank You!

Comments

• Options
    PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
    To just start out with Cisco, I'd start with the CCENT, which is the new entry level certification. It is the first of the two part of the CCNA (you can also take the 802, which is the one exam option for the CCNA).

The Sybex book by Todd Lammelle is highly recommended by others and myself.

But, with little Cisco experience, you should start with the CCENT then the CCNA to learn the basics.
  • Options
    hypnotoadhypnotoad Banned Posts: 915
    Every Cisco cert you'll see requires the CCNA first. The CCNA is acquired by either taking 1 exam or 2. Taking the 2-exam path gives you the CCENT along the way.
  • Options
    Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157
    With little to no Cisco experience, I would tell you to start with the CCENT exam first (640-822). After that, go for the 640-816 exam.

I personally prefer the Sybex book(s) over the Cisco Press for this series of exams. The reason for me, being that it reads easier. If you can get both, even better!

You will want to get some equipment to practice with or a good simulator. A lot of people here suggest GNS3/Dynamips... This requires you to get a real Cisco IOS though.

I personally like Packet Tracer... However, it's not easy for some people to get, since you should have to have been in the Cisco Networking Academy to access the download for it.
  • Options
    tech-airmantech-airman Member Posts: 953