Options

CCNA Wireless exam scheduled for March 20th

Fish!Fish! Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
My exam is just two days away! I have been studying like mad for two weeks and don't feel like I am prepared.

A little background...

I have been building networks and working with Cisco gear since 1995. In all that time I have generally ignored certifications and have done whatever is necessary to get the job done. I have broad experience in routing, switching, security, voice, and wireless.

Well, things change, and recently I decided I needed to get a few Cisco certifications under my belt (finally).

A few weeks back, I passed the CCNA after one day of studying, and passed the CCNA Security a week later. I wouldn't attribute my success to extensive study, rather, my extensive experience.

I have been studying hard for the CCNA Wireless exam since March 7th. There is little study material available for this exam. I have the Cisco press book and some of the resources that redwarrior has pointed to (thanks redwarrior!) as well as powerpoint slides and lab excersizes from the 5-day IUWNE training course (that I haven't attended). Reading the experiences of others that have taken this exam has me a bit concerned though.

Mind you, I did not feel ready for the CCNA Security, but went and knocked it out of the park. The 'SPECIALIZE' retake promotion has me probably taking the wireless exam before I am ready, but we will see.

My problem with the CCNA Wireless is not only the lack of study resources, but also the cost of equipment. The CCNA and CCNA Security can be done with GNS3 or a cheap 2600xm from eBay. Even the CCNA Voice can be done with a 2600xm with a 48M flash upgrade to play with CME. However, it seems that CCNA Wireless requires something like $4000 of equipment, none of which has an emulator or any kind of 'budget' alternative.