Options

Setting up a CCNA Lab - Topology advice.

sixarmsixarm Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm currently studying for my CCNA and I've got myself some Cisco hardware to work with. I have 3 x 2600 routers and 3 x 2950 switches.

At present I have one 2600 connected via Fa0/0 to a port on my Netgear DSL router to allow me access from work. What I was after was some advice as to how to physical connect the rest of my routers & switches to get the best out of them in terms of the various configuration and troubleshooting required for the exam.

Unfortunately I don't have any WIC's for the 2600's so I'm stuck with using the Netgear as the gateway device at present.

Thanks in advance.

Dave.

Comments

• Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    This is how my lab is setup. It works fine for me, It allows me to do what I need at the moment.

HomeLab.jpg
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    Thanks for the reply.

You have quite a bit more hardware than me! The other annoying thing is that all my routers are 2611XM's so I'm limited to two FastEthernet interfaces on each device.

A CCNA qualified friend of mine suggested connecting them in series [2600 to 2950 to 2600 to 2950 to 2600 to 2950].
  • Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    You're going to want to get WIC's though. They're needed so you can do serial communication such as PPP and Frame Relay. As for connecting them all in series... I don't know aout that... never done it. Lets see what other members have to see.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235
    The idea of having a home lab is to build a topology that works and then tear it all down and build up a completely different topology and make that work.... Then tear it all down again...
    Kam.
  • Options