Options

new guy here

chevy454chevy454 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
hey guys im new to the fourm and i recently gained interest in the IT field and i came here to get a little bit of help on which certs to get,after reading i see the A+ is the foundation for IT i dont know to much about all the certs but i want to do something thats 50% hands on and 50% behind the desk if i can what certs do i need if i decided to go that route? and how is the pay?

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,565 Mod
    Welcome to the forums icon_thumright.gif

I think it's a good idea that you get A+ & Net+ then start looking for a job. Depends on your background in IT. If you develop interest in networking, go for CCNA which has hands on.

Just look for a job to get experience, and from there you can start certifying
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• Options
    oh ok will i need a degree of some sort also? i heard a few people saw you will need a 2 year,4 year, or 5 year/
  • Options
    murdatapesmurdatapes Member Posts: 232 ■■■□□□□□□□
    chevy454 wrote: »
    oh ok will i need a degree of some sort also? i heard a few people saw you will need a 2 year,4 year, or 5 year/

Not necessarily. Degree will always give you some sort of edge when applying for a job. I am doing my A.A.S right now, but I got into this I.T. game through my certs. I started off with A+ and Network+, which knocked the door down for me, and continued from there. If you can do a combo of degree and certs, that would be great. If you can't do both right now, start on your A+ and Network+.
    Next up
    CIW Web Foundations Associatef(Knock out some certs before WGU)
    ITIL Intermediate Service Operations
  • Options
    qwertyiopqwertyiop Member Posts: 725 ■■■□□□□□□□