Options

help with icnd1

adeeteeadeetee Member Posts: 79 ■■□□□□□□□□
hi all,

First off, let me just say that this is an amazing forum that i have come across..

I am a newbie.. and preparing for my icnd1/icnd2 etc etc...
I have read the icnd1 book by wendell odom & have started my second read on it.

From what I hear everyone say on forums, I think this book is not enough & I should also read Todd Lamle??

Apart from that I also have the Train Signal videos. I am planning to start that once I am done reading wendell odom second time.

I do not have any router/switch to practice anything. Is that going to be a problem for me?

How tough is icnd1? I have been studying for a month.. How much time is enough to prepare for the exam??
I have so many doubts right now.
icon_sad.gif
Wish List :
CISSP...

Comments

• Options
    AD227529AD227529 Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the forum! The Cisco Press book by Wendell Odom is very good, but don't rely on it alone. I used it along with Matt Walker's book and the Exam Cram book. For the video series, I used Transignals and CBT Nuggets. Both are excellent in my opinion. If you don't have a home lab with a router and switch, try to get a copy of Cisco's Packet Tracer. I did not have a home lab and just used Packet Tracer and still passed. I can't say if one month of study is enough to pass. I studied for about three months, at least an hour a night, and the test was still a challenge. Most of my hard questions were near the beginning of the test, and the easy ones were near the end. If you really know the material, you should have plenty of time to complete the test. You definately need to know show commands such as show ip interface brief and show cdp neighbors detail. Know how to use the show cdp neighbors detail command to complete a network diagram. That's really all I can tell you without violating the NDA. Good luck and let us know how you do.
    CCNA, CCENT, A+, Net+, Security+
  • Options