Options

Is More Better ???

KatanaSamKatanaSam Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm just starting out on my path to certification. I've almost completed an Information Systems Administration Diploma and have gained some valuable work experience through my college's cooperative education program. I'm planning to gain some certs related to network admin.

What I am wondering though is there any real advantage to gaining certifications that aren't directly related to your area of work?

It seems to me that if you go into a job interview and you have something that others do not have it can only be to your advantage. For instance, say you're applying for a network admin position. You have a host of related certs but you also happen to hold a cert or two related to database or web development. Is this a worthwhile advantage? To me it seems like a great way to represent additional skills.

Although I realize there is a point where the certs you hold become 'optimal' in relation to cost and benefit, is there a point where you can simply have too many certs? A point where it actually works against you?

Comments

• Options
    Ten9t6Ten9t6 Member Posts: 691
    I don't believe that you can have too many certs. It is always something that you can fall back on. Where you can get into too much troulble is when you list them all on your resume...Here is why:

the more certs you list = the more they think they will have to pay you
    the more certs you list = the more questions you may get during an interview....Even questions that will not pertain to the job you are applying for..(This has happened to me)

After making that mistake, I do what I should have been doing the whole time. I tweak my resume for the position that I am seeking. I do not list any certs that would be overkill for that position. You do not want to look "over qualified" for the position. I hated hearing those words..